Lemon Drizzle Cake

20140309-220719.jpg

A little baking session was definitely over due for me… I constantly have to keep my eyes on pup and baking one handed doesn’t seem ideal!

She is getting more and more adventurous and faster now..

Anyhow, the boyfriend offered to babysit Holly whilst I baked…. So, I lavished the opportunity to make a lemon drizzle cake! It seems to be a popular choice and seemed to suit the sunny English weather… I wish it was sunnier more often as I seem to want to eat more healthily, so yes, I will blame my bad eating habits on the weather!

Here’s the recipe:

-225g unsalted butter

-225g caster sugar

-4 eggs

-finely grated zest of 1 lemon

-225g self raising flour

For the topping:

-Juice of 1 and a half lemons

-85g caster sugar

Directions:

-Preheat the oven to 180c

-Beat together the butter and sugar.

-Add the eggs, 1 by 1 stirring as you go.

-Mix in the flour and the grated zest.

-Line a loaf tin with grease proof paper and bake for approximately 40minutes (Using a skewer to check if it’s cooked)

-Whilst it’s cooling in the tin, mix together the lemon juice and sugar, prick the cake all over with a skewer and pour the lemon mixture over, allowing it to cool fully in the cake tin.

And to finish, here’s a photo of Holly!

20140309-220900.jpg

Hope you all have a great week!

Leave a comment