Welsh Cakes / Flattened Scones..?

Part of my Family are Welsh and my Best Mate is also a crazy Welsh.. meaning that these cakes were unavoidable! After my Grandma recently gave me her griddle, I took the hint and decided to have a go at making some.

Whenever people ask me what Welsh cakes are, I find this a difficult question to answer. I’ve since decided that they are basically flat scones, so I call them this (It is definitely not a technical baking term..)

Anyway, Welsh cakes are delish and you should definitely make some. I especially love the mixed spice in them, I feel like it’s suitable for the season. (The post seems to have gone a bit disjointed, it is there though so just keep scrolling along!)

Ingredients:

– 8oz Self raising flour

-4oz Salted butter

-3oz Caster sugar

-1 tsp Mixed spice

-Handful of currants

-1 Medium-Large egg

-**A griddle pan / Hot plate

Crumb 8oz Self raising flour and 4oz butter

IMG_8132

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Combine the remaining ingredients, beating until it hurts your arms (It takes time to form the dough)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8138

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8140

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8143

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roll the dough out until about a quarter of an inch in thickness and cook on the hot plate for 1-2 minutes on each side, sprinkling caster sugar on them once that are golden brown.

IMG_8147

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_8156

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I’m hungry!!

 

 

Leave a comment